The history of the Triple Crown, which is central to American racing, is written in a century of defining moments in the Belmont Stakes, including Secretariat's world record, Seattle Slew's undefeated sweep of the series, and Affirmed's survival of his rival's last onslaught. Only 11 horses have won this most rare of American sporting titles, while some 34 have been eligible to try. At Belmont Park, almost every champion of the last century has carved his or her name into the venerable stone of racing legend.

Sir Barton Gallant Fox Omaha  War Admiral 
 Whirlaway  Count Fleet  Assault  Citation
Secretariat Seattle Slew Affirmed